On September 19, 1900, a disastrous fire destroyed several buildings including a number of large cottages in Hastings Square, (the block on which the Essex & Sussex Condominium now stands), structures in the former First Avenue business district, and the well-known Monmouth House and Carleton Hotel. Third Avenue, established in the late 1800's as the Brighton-North Brighton business district, then became the primary commercial center for the borough.
Two structures in town, the Normandy Inn and Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, are on the National Register of Historic Places. Today, Spring Lake is a unique year-round community that welcomes a large influx of summer vacationers. The town boasts a comfortable two mile non-commercial boardwalk that borders a beautiful sand beach, lovely bed and breakfast inns, a quaint downtown area and a number of charming historic Victorian homes.
For more information please go to the Spring Lake Historical Society Website.